We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

About Newton Abbot

In 2001 and 2005, Richard Younger-Ross was elected as the Liberal Democrat MP for Teignbridge. For the 2010 General Election, the Teignbridge constituency was abolished following the Boundary Commission for England's review of parliamentary representation in Devon.

In the 2010 General Election, Richard Younger-Ross lost out to the Conservative candidate by just 523 votes, making Newton Abbot one of the most marginal constituencies in the country. In 2017, Marie Chadwick stood for Newton Abbot.

In 2018 we have selected Martin Wrigley as our candidate. Martin is a District councillor for Dawlish and former Mayor of Dawlish.

Following last year's election we are determined to win the seat of MP for the Newton Abbot constituency. We will continue to listen to our local residents, and to work for local people in our local communities. We will get out on the street and campaign on local issues that are important to us all.

As Liberal Democrats, we believe that actions are stronger than words, and we will continue to listen to you, our constituents, and work for the issues that are important for you.

The wards of Ambrook, Bishopsteignton, Bradley, Buckland and Milber, Bushell, College, Dawlish Central and North East, Dawlish South West, Ipplepen, Kenton with Starcross, Kerswell-with-Combe, Kingsteignton East, Kingsteignton West, Shaldon and Stokeinteignhead, Teignmouth Central, Teignmouth East and Teignmouth West form the Newton Abbot constituency.

Teignbridge District includes other areas (from Central Devon parliamentary Constituency) including Bovey Tracey, Chudleigh, Ashburton and Buckfastleigh, Kenn Valley and Haytor and Moorland.

View Larger Map